Magruder Hall


Welcome to the Department of Psychology at Mississippi State University. Here you can view the exciting research that is being conducted by our world class faculty and the rewarding opportunities for graduate and undergraduate students.

Mississippi State University is classified by the Carnegie Foundation as a doctoral university with higher research activity. In addition, we are a land grant institution. In line with this unique status in the state, our faculty is committed to educating and serving the people of Mississippi through advancement of the science and application of psychology.

Departmental News

Clinical Doctoral Program Graduates First PhDs

Congratulations to the first four doctoral students to graduate from the Clinical doctoral program in the Department of Psychology at Mississippi State. Pictured from left to right are Dr. Destiny Peterson, Dr. Shea Golding, Dr. Mary Ward Black, and Dr. Christopher Webb.

Congratulations to Brittany Kinman on her dissertation defense!

Congratulations to Dr. Brittany A. Kinman who successfully defended her dissertation, entitled "Using the Health Belief Model to Identify Factors that Prevent Non-Prescription Stimulant Use", on Friday, December 8, 2017. She is pictured with her committee from left, Dr. Michael R. Nadorff, co-chair Dr. Kevin J. Armstrong, Dr. Kinman, co-chair Dr. Kristina B. Hood, and Dr. Cliff McKinney.

Dr. Winston Jones is Awarded Post-Doctoral Position

Dr. Winston Jones, a recent graduate of the Cognitive Science doctoral program, will be starting a post-doctoral position in January at Baylor University. He will be working in Michael Scullin's Sleep Neuroscience and Cognition Lab to evaluate the efficacy of training people with mild Alzheimer's Disease to use smartphone applications as prospective memory aids. Congratulations and best of luck to Dr. Jones!

Congratulations to Courtney Walker on her dissertation defense!

Congratulations to the new Dr. Courtney Walker, who successfully defended her dissertation, entitled "The Creation and Validation of the Domains of Young Adult Discipline Scale (DYADS)", on Friday, October 20, 2017. She is pictured with her committee, from left to right, Dr. Arazais Oliveros, Dr. Cliff McKinney (chair), Dr. Walker, Dr. Deborah K. Eakin, and Dr. Andrew Jarosz.

Dr. Carolyn Adams-Price selected for ORED Undergraduate Research Grant

Dr. Carolyn Adams-Price was selected to receive a 2017-2018 Office for Research and Economic Development (ORED) Undergraduate Research Grant. The grant funds expenses of undergraduate researchers to interview older rural African Americans in nearby counties to examine health, well-being, and attachment to place in an under-studied population. Any interested undergraduates, please contact Dr. Adams-Price at for more information.

Dr. Michael Nadorff Named Deans Eminent Scholar

Dr. Michael Nadorff (left), pictured with Dr. Rick Travis, the Dean of the College of Arts & Sciences, was named 2017 Dean's Eminent Scholar at the College of Arts & Sciences Fall General Faculty Meeting on October 17, 2017. The award carries an allocated research support fund of $3000, along with a cash award of $2000 per year for three years. The Dean's Eminent Scholar Fund is intended to support the research and creative activities of the recipient. Congratulations, Dr. Nadorff!

Dr. Clifford McKinney Recognized for Outstanding Mentoring

Dr. Clifford McKinney (left), pictured with Dr. Rick Travis, the Dean of the College of Arts & Sciences, was presented with the 2017 Phil and Kari Oldham Outstanding Faculty Mentor award at the College of Arts & Sciences Fall General Faculty Meeting on October, 17. The award carries an cash award of $1000. The award was established through the generosity of the Hunter Henry Family in honor and recognition of Philip B. Oldham, who served as a professor of Chemistry, department head, and dean of the College of Arts & Sciences. It was established to recognize a faculty member who has made a special effort to impact the lives and careers of their students. Congratulations, Dr. McKinney!

Dr. Danielle Nadorff wins Cross-College Grant

Congratulations to Dr. D. Nadorff for being one of the 2017 awardees of the MSU Office of Research and Economic Development's Cross-College Grant Program! Dr. Nadorff, P.I., along with co-investigators Joe Wilmoth, Ph.D., an associate professor of Human Sciences and Family Studies, and Ethan Lantz, M.S., one of Dr. Nadorff's graduate students, were awarded funding for a project titled "Counting your blessings: Improving mental health outcomes through gratitude training in a custodial grandchild population." This project will be integrated with Dr. Nadorff's "Grandfamilies Support Group of Starkville, MS," a Relatives As Parents Program funded by the Brookdale Foundation Group.

More News Psychology Research Program (PRP)